Skip to main content Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 23
Friday, September 23, 2016, 8:38 a.m. to 4:50 p.m.
Andy Fillmore, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Sara Fryer, Analyst
• Alexandre Lavoie, Analyst
Qarjuit Youth Council
• Alicia Aragutak, President
• Louisa Yeates, Vice President
Nunavut Tunngavik Inc.
• James T. Arreak, Chief Executive Officer, Executive Services
• Jeannie Arreak-Kullualik, Director, Department of Social and Cultural Development
Nunatsiavut Government
• Nina Ford, Youth Representative, Youth Division
• Johannes Lampe, President
Government of Nunavut
• Hon. George Hickes, Minister of Health, Minister responsible for Suicide Prevention
• Shuvinai Mike, Director of Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit, Department of Culture and Heritage
• Karen Kabloona, Associate Deputy Minister, Quality of Life
Embrace Life Council
• David Lawson, President
• Kimberly Masson, Executive Director
Nunavut Kamatsiaqtut Help Line
• Sheila Levy, Executive Director
National Inuit Youth Council
• Maatalii Okalik, President
As an individual
• Caroline Anawak
• Hon. Paul Okalik
• Toby Otak
• Peter Williamson
• Adam Akpik
• Jack I. Anawak
• Louisa Willoughby
• David Joanasie
• Brian Tagalik
• Emiliano Qirngnuq
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on April 12, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of suicide among Indigenous peoples and communities.

Hon. George Hickes made a statement and, with Karen Kabloona, answered questions.

At 9:38 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:00 a.m., the sitting resumed.

James T. Arreak, Johannes Lampe and Shuvinai Mike made statements and, with Jeannie Arreak-Kullualik, answered questions.

At 11:30 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:41 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Maatalii Okalik, Alicia Aragutak, Louisa Yeates and Nina Ford made statements and answered questions.

At 2:02 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 2:33 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Kimberly Masson and Sheila Levy made statements and, with David Lawson, answered questions.

At 3:43 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:52 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Hon. Paul Okalik, Toby Otak, Peter Williamson, Caroline Anawak, Johannes Lampe, Adam Akpik, Jack I. Anawak, Louisa Willoughby, David Joanasie, Brian Tagalik and Emiliano Qirngnuq made statements.

At 4:50 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michelle Legault
Clerk of the Committee