Skip to main content Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 113
Thursday, June 7, 2018, 3:28 p.m. to 5:32 p.m.
Hon. MaryAnn Mihychuk, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Isabelle Brideau, Analyst
• Olivier Leblanc-Laurendeau, Analyst
Dakota Oyate Lodge
• Della Mansoff, Director
File Hills Qu'Appelle Tribal Council
• Chief Edmund Bellegarde, Tribal Chief
• Gail Boehme, Executive Director
Sioux Lookout First Nations Health Authority
• John Cutfeet, Board Chair
Nishnawbe Aski Nation
• Deputy Grand Chief Derek Fox
• James Cutfeet, Director, Health Policy and Advocacy
Driftpile Cree Nation
• Florence Willier, Councillor
• Sandra Lamouche, Health Director, Treaty 8 First Nations of Alberta
Heart River Housing
• Lindsay Pratt, Administrator
Cowessess First Nation
• Chief Cadmus Delorme
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, February 1, 2018, the Committee resumed its study of long-term care on reserve.

Florence Willier and Sandra Lamouche, by videoconference from Edmonton, Alberta, Edmund Bellegarde and Della Mansoff made statements and, with Gail Boehme, answered questions.


Cathy McLeod moved, — That the Committee extend the study of Long Term Care on Reserve into the Fall, and that the Clerk of the Committee, in consultation with the Chair, prepare a preliminary submission for travel to hospitals and long term care facilities across Canada in support of the study, to be submitted to the Subcommittee on Budgets of the Liaison Committee at the earliest opportunity.

It was agreed, — That consideration of the motion be postponed until a future Committee meeting.

At 4:29 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:36 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Cadmus Delorme, by videoconference from Regina, Saskatchewan, Lindsay Pratt, by videoconference from High Prairie, Alberta, Derek Fox and John Cutfeet made statements and answered questions.

At 5:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee