Skip to main content Start of content

HUMA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 62
Tuesday, September 26, 2017, 3:31 p.m. to 4:32 p.m.
Bryan May, Chair (Liberal)


• Hon. Larry Bagnell for Ramesh Sangha (Liberal)
• Glen Motz for Mark Warawa (Conservative)
• Salma Zahid for Yves Robillard (Liberal)
House of Commons
• Julie Geoffrion, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Elizabeth Cahill, Analyst
• Mayra Perez-Leclerc, Analyst
Pursuant to Standing Order 106(2), the Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of a Vice-Chair.

On motion of Glen Motz, it was agreed, — That Hon. Steven Blaney be elected First Vice-Chair of the Committee.

At 3:37 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:38 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That, notwithstanding the routine motion governing staff attending in camera proceedings adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, February 17, 2016, an intern from the office of Dan Ruimy be permitted to attend the in camera portion of today's meeting.

It was agreed, — That the study of inclusion and quality of life for Canadian seniors be extended by one meeting.

It was agreed, — That, concerning the study of inclusion and quality of life for Canadian seniors, each party send a list of witnesses to the Clerk of the Committee before the end of the day, Friday, September 29, 2017.

At 3:46 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:59 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed its study of 2017 Centennial Flame Research Award.

It was agreed, — That Ben Fulton be the recipient of the 2017 Centennial Flame Research Award and that a press release be published on the Committee's website.

At 4:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Stephanie Feldman
Clerk of the Committee