Skip to main content
Start of content

HUMA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 117
Tuesday, October 23, 2018, 8:46 a.m. to 10:46 a.m.
Bryan May, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Havi Echenberg, Analyst
Canadian Bankers Association
• Marina Mandal, Assistant General Counsel
• Tasmin Waley, Senior Legal Counsel
Canadian Disability Policy Alliance
• Mary Ann McColl, Professor, Queen's University
Royal Bank of Canada
• Teri Monti, Vice-President, Employee Relations
Accessible Media Inc.
• David Errington, President and Chief Executive Officer
ARCH Disability Law Centre
• Robert Lattanzio, Executive Director
• Kerri Joffe, Staff Lawyer
Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
• Scott Shortliffe, Chief Consumer Officer and Executive Director
• Mary-Louise Hayward, Manager, Social and Consumer Policy
• Adam Balkovec, Legal Counsel
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, September 26, 2018, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-81, An Act to ensure a barrier-free Canada.

Marina Mandal, Mary Ann McColl and Teri Monti made statements and, with Tasmin Waley, answered questions.

At 9:46 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:50 a.m., the sitting resumed.

David Errington, Robert Lattanzio and Scott Shortliffe made statements and, with Kerri Joffe, answered questions.

At 10:44, by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.

At 10:46 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Stephanie Feldman
Clerk of the Committee