Skip to main content Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 62
Tuesday, May 16, 2017, 8:46 a.m. to 10:48 a.m.
Scott Simms, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Daniele Lafrance, Analyst
Sport Fishing Institute of British Columbia
• Owen Bird, Executive Director
• Gerry Kristianson, Chair, Sport Fishing Advisory Board
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, December 12, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of the Oceans Act’s marine protected areas.

Owen Bird and Gerry Kristianson made statements and answered questions.

Todd Doherty gave notice of the following motion:

That the Committee invite the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans to appear before the Committee, no later than Thursday, June 15, 2017, in relation to the study of the Supplementary Estimates (A) 2017-18.

At 10:00 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:04 a.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That in relation to the study of the Oceans Act's Marine Protected Areas, the proposed budget in the amount of $72,569.80, for the Committee’s travel to Sydney, Cheticamp and Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Gaspé, Québec, and Bathhurst and Shippagan, New Brunswick, in Fall 2017, be adopted.

At 10:17 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:20 a.m., the sitting resumed.

At 10:48 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Thomas Bigelow
Clerk of the Committee