Skip to main content
Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 25
Monday, October 3, 2016, 3:29 p.m. to 5:33 p.m.
Scott Simms, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Thai Nguyen, Analyst
House of Commons
• Julie Geoffrion, Procedural Clerk
Oceana Canada
• Joshua Laughren, Executive Director
• Robert Rangeley, Director of Science
As an individual
• Brett Favaro, Research Scientist, Fisheries and Marine Institute, Memorial University of Newfoundland
• Jeffrey A. Hutchings, Killam Memorial Chair in Fish, Fisheries and Oceans, Department of Biology, Dalhousie University
• Alan Sinclair, Co-chair, Subcommitee on Marine Fishes, Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, February 25, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of the Northern Cod Stock.

It was agreed, — That 10 minutes be reserved for Commitee Business at the end of today's meeting.

Brett Favaro, Jeffrey Hutchings, Joshua Laughren and Alan Sinclair, by videoconference from Nanoose Bay, British Colombia, made statements and, with Robert Rangeley answered questions.

At 5:16 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:19 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 5:33 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Thomas Bigelow
Clerk of the Committee