Skip to main content Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 130
Tuesday, February 5, 2019, 3:46 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.
Ken McDonald, Chair (Liberal)

• Hon. Kent Hehr for Churence Rogers (Liberal)
• Robert Sopuck for Blaine Calkins (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Michael Chalupovitsch, Analyst
• Thai Nguyen, Analyst
United Fishermen and Allied Workers' Union – Unifor
• Joy Thorkelson, President
As individuals
• Ross Antilla, Fisher
• Duncan Cameron, Fisher
• Peter de Greef, Fisher
• Dan Edwards, Fisher
• Fraser MacDonald, Fisher
• David MacKay, Fisher
• Modestus Nobels, Fisher
• Jennifer Silver, Associate Professor, University of Guelph
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, June 5, 2018, the Committee resumed its study of the Regulation of the West Coast fisheries.

Modestus Nobels, by videoconference from Prince Rupert, British Columbia, David MacKay, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, Joy Thorkelson, Dan Edwards, and Peter de Greef, made statements and answered questions.

At 5:12 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:17 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Duncan Cameron, Fraser MacDonald, Ross Antilla, and Jennifer Silver, made statements and answered questions.

It was agreed, — That a proposed budget in the amount of $ 51,500.00, for the study of the Regulation of the West Coast Fisheries, be adopted.

At 6:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Nancy Vohl
Clerk of the Committee