Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 98
Monday, June 5, 2017, 3:30 p.m. to 6:40 p.m.
In Camera
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Andrew Lauzon, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Dylan Gowans, Analyst
• Brett Capstick, Analyst
Financial Consumer Agency of Canada
• Lucie Tedesco, Commissioner, Executive Services
• Brigitte Goulard, Deputy Commissionner
• Richard Bilodeau, Director, Supervision and Promotion
• Jérémie Ryan, Director, Financial Literacy
Department of Finance
• Jean-François Girard, Chief, Financial Institutions Division, Financial Sector Policy Branch
• Eleanor Ryan, Acting Director, Financial Institutions Division
• Jennifer Sweeney, Senior Advisor, Financial Institutions Division, Financial Sector Policy Branch
Canadian Bankers Association
• Darren Hannah, Vice-President, Finance, Risk and Prudential Policy
• Sandy Stephens, Assistant Legal Counsel
Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions
• Carolyn Rogers, Assistant Superintendent, Regulation Sector
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, May 3, 2017, the Committee commenced its study of consumer protection and oversight in relation to Schedule I banks.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.

At 3:55 p.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.

At 4:11 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:48 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 5:10 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:16 p.m., the sitting resumed in a televised session.

Lucie Tedesco and Darren Hannah made statements and, with Sandy Stephens, Richard Bilodeau and Jérémie Ryan, answered questions.

At 6:40 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Stephanie Feldman
Committee Clerk