Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 67
Monday, January 30, 2017, 3:34 p.m. to 7:30 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

• Ziad Aboultaif for Gérard Deltell (Conservative)
• Dean Allison for Gérard Deltell (Conservative)
• Hon. Larry Bagnell for Steven MacKinnon (Liberal)
• Greg Fergus for Steven MacKinnon (Liberal)
• Phil McColeman for Gérard Deltell (Conservative)
• Ramesh Sangha for Steven MacKinnon (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Dylan Gowans, Analyst
• Florian Richard, Analyst
Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions
• Judy Cameron, Senior Director, Legislation, Approvals & Strategic Policy
• Carolyn Rogers, Assistant Superintendent, Regulation Sector
Canadian Bankers Association
• Alex Ciappara, Director, Credit Market and Economic Policy
Bank of Canada
• Don Coletti, Advisor to the Governor
• Sylvain Leduc, Deputy Governor
Royal Bank of Canada
• Robert Hogue, Senior Economist
Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation
• Michel Laurence, Vice-President, Housing Markets and Indicators
• Michel Tremblay, Senior Vice President, Policy, Research and Public Affairs
Genworth Canada
• Stuart Levings, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Winsor Macdonell, Second Vice-President and General Counsel
Canadian Credit Union Association
• Robert Martin, Senior Policy Advisor
• Christopher White, Vice-President, Government Relations
Canadian Housing and Renewal Association
• Jeff Morrison, Executive Director
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, June 14, 2016, the Committee commenced its study of the Canadian Real Estate Market and Home Ownership.

Sylvain Leduc, Michel Tremblay and Carolyn Rogers made statements and, with Michel Laurence and Don Coletti, answered questions.

It was agreed, — That the Committee hold an additional meeting with witnesses on Wednesday, February 8, 2017, on the study of the Canadian Real Estate Market and Home Ownership.

At 5:31 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:40 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Alex Ciappara, Jeff Morrison, Christopher White and Stuart Levings made statements and, with Robert Martin, Robert Hogue and Winsor Macdonell, answered questions.

The Committee held a moment of silence in support of the vigil taking place on Parliament Hill in solidarity with the Muslim communities of Quebec and Canada.

At 6:12 p.m., Ron Liepert took the Chair.

At 6:32 p.m., Hon. Wayne Easter took the Chair.

At 7:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Suzie Cadieux
Clerk of the Committee