Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 52
Thursday, October 27, 2016, 3:32 p.m. to 6:42 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Jean-Denis Kusion, Procedural Clerk
• William Stephenson, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Dylan Gowans, Analyst
• Florian Richard, Analyst
The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

Dan Albas gave notice of the following motion:

That the Standing Committee on Finance undertake a study on the “de minimis threshold”, established under the Postal Imports Remission Order and the Courier Imports Remission Order; make recommendations to the Minister of Finance as to what the appropriate amount should be; and that this be reported to the House.

Colleges and Institutes Canada
• Denise Amyot, President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Construction Association
• Michael Atkinson, President
• Jordan Brennan, Economist, Research Department
Canadian Supply Chain Food Safety Coalition
• Albert Chambers, Executive Director
Clean Energy Canada
• Clare Demerse, Federal Policy Advisor
Canadian Credit Union Association
• Martha Durdin, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Robert Martin, Senior Policy Advisor
Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association
• Kurt Eby, Director, Regulatory Affairs and Government Relations
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers
• Alex Ferguson, Vice President, Policy and Performance
Co-operative Housing Federation of Canada
• Allison Ferris, Vice-President
• Timothy Ross, Program Manager, Policy and Government Relations
Canadian Steel Producers Association
• Joseph Galimberti, President
Consumer Health Products Canada
• Gerry Harrington, Vice President, Policy and Regulatory Affairs
• Bryan Keshen, President and Chief Executive Officer
National Angel Capital Organization
• Yuri Navarro, Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director
Canadian Council for International Co-operation
• Fraser Reilly-King, Senior Policy Analyst
Canadian Artists Representation
• Darrah Teitel, Director of Advocacy, National Level
As an individual
• Theresie Tungilik
Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations in advance of the 2017 budget.

Michael Atkinson, Albert Chambers, Theresie Tungilik, Darrah Teitel and Alex Ferguson made statements.

At 16:05 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 16:14 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Martha Durdin, Joseph Galimberti, and Jordan Brennan made statements and, with Michael Atkinson, Albert Chambers, Theresie Tungilik, Darrah Teitel, Alex Ferguson and Robert Martin, answered questions.

At 5:14 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:22 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Kurt Eby, Gerry Harrington, Denise Amyot, Clare Demerse, Allison Ferris, Timothy Ross, Fraser Reilly-King, Bryan Keshen and Yuri Navarro made statements and answered questions.

At 6:12 p.m., Guy Caron took the Chair.

At 6:22 p.m., Hon. Wayne Easter took the Chair.

At 6:42 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Suzie Cadieux
Clerk of the Committee