Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 50
Wednesday, October 26, 2016, 3:30 p.m. to 5:48 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Jean-Denis Kusion, Procedural Clerk
• William Stephenson, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Dylan Gowans, Analyst
• Florian Richard, Analyst
Canadian Medical Association
• Owen Adams, Chief Policy Advisor
• Granger Avery, President
Conference for Advanced Life Underwriting
• Warren Blatt, Chair, Government Relations
Canadian Convenience Stores Association
• Satinder Chera, President
• Alex Scholten, Past President
Macdonald-Laurier Institute
• Philip Cross, Senior Fellow
Chicken Farmers of Canada
• Mike Dungate, Executive Director
• Dave Janzen, Chair
Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada
• Gregory Gallant, Board Member
Canadian Mental Health Association
• Teresa Gerner, National Coordinator, Administration, Government Relations
• Patrick Smith, National Chief Executive Officer
Federation of Canadian Municipalities
• Sylvie Goneau, Second Vice-President
• Alana Lavoie, Manager, Policy
Canadian Climate Forum
• Deirdre Laframboise, Executive Director
Fédération des communautés francophones et acadiennes du Canada (FCFA)
• Sylviane Lanthier, President, President of the Table nationale de concertation communautaire en immigration francophone
C.D. Howe Institute
• Alexandre Laurin, Director of Research
Forest Products Association of Canada
• Derek Nighbor, Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Council for Refugees
• Loly Rico, President
Canadian Union of Public Employees
• Toby Sanger, Senior Economist
Canadian Red Cross
• Conrad Sauvé, President and Chief Executive Officer
Green Budget Coalition
• Andrew Van Iterson, Manager
Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations in advance of the 2017 budget.

Satinder Chera, Granger Avery, Dave Janzen, Sylviane Lanthier, Patrick Smith, Conrad Sauvé, Sylvie Goneau and Alexandre Laurin, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, made statements and answered questions.

At 4:37 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:46 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Toby Sanger, Deirdre Laframboise, Warren Blatt, Andrew Van Iterson, Philip Cross, Gregory Gallant, Derek Nighbor, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, and Loly Rico, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, made statements and answered questions.

At 5:34 p.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit until 5:45 p.m.

At 5:48 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Suzie Cadieux
Clerk of the Committee