Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 40
Tuesday, October 4, 2016, 9:01 a.m. to 12:46 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Dylan Gowans, Analyst
• June Dewetering, Analyst
Shaw Rocket Fund
• Agnes Augustin, President and Chief Executive Officer
Alberta Urban Municipalities Association
• Lisa Holmes, President
• Sue Bohaichuk, Chief Executive Officer
Farmers of North America
• Bob Friesen, Vice-President, Government Affairs, Chief Executive Officer, Farmers of North America Strategic Agriculture Institute
Canadian Solar Industries Association
• John Gorman, President and Chief Executive Officer
Generation Squeeze
• Paul Kershaw, Founder and University of British Columbia Professor
Recreation Vehicle Dealers Association of Canada
• Dan Merkowsky, Member
• Michelle O'Brien-Moran, Hutterite Tax Expert
• Gord Tait, Hutterite Business Expert
Alberta-Pacific Forest Industries Inc.
• Brent Rabik, Unit Leader, Business Development And Government Affairs
National Cattle Feeders' Association
• Casey Vander Ploeg, Manager, Policy and Research
Alberta Federation of Labour
• Siobhan Vipond, Secretary Treasurer
Canada's Oil Sands Innovation Alliance
• Dan Wicklum, Chief Executive
As an individual
• Jean Johnson
• Aliya Lakhani
Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations in advance of the 2017 budget.

Agnes Augustin, Casey Vander Ploeg, Lisa Holmes, Dan Wicklum and Bob Friesen made statements and, with Sue Bohaichuk, answered questions.

At 10:30 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:43 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Paul Kershaw, Brent Rabik, Michelle O'Brien-Moran, Siobhan Vipond, Dan Merkowsky and John Gorman made statements and answered questions.

At 12:16 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:26 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Jean Johnson and Aliya Lakhani made statements.

At 12:35 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:39 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

At 12:46 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Suzie Cadieux
Clerk of the Committee