Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 212
Tuesday, May 14, 2019, 11:04 a.m. to 2:02 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Brett Capwell, Analyst
• Michaël Lambert-Racine, Analyst
Achen Henderson LLP
• Clayton Achen, Managing Partner
Canadian Consumer Specialty Products Association
• Shannon Coombs, President
CropLife Canada
• Dennis Prouse, Vice-President, Government Affairs
Canadian Credit Union Association
• Michael Hatch, Associate Vice-President, Financial Sector Policy
Canada Without Poverty
• Michèle Biss, Policy Director and Human Rights Lawyer
As individuals
• Miles Corak, Professor of Economics, University of Ottawa
• Leilani Farha, United Nations Special Rapporteur on the Right to Housing
• Audrey Macklin, Director, Centre for Criminology and Sociolegal Studies, University of Toronto
• Jack Mintz, President's Fellow, School of Public Policy, University of Calgary
• Lorne Waldman, Lawyer
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, April 30, 2019, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-97, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 19, 2019, and other measures.

Clayton Achen, Shannon Coombs, Dennis Prouse, Michael Hatch and Audrey Macklin, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, made statements and answered questions.

At 12:33 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:43 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Michèle Biss, Miles Corak, Leilani Farha, Jack Mintz and Lorne Waldman made statements and answered questions.

At 2:02 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

David Gagnon
Clerk of the Committee