Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 185
Tuesday, November 6, 2018, 8:50 a.m. to 11:49 a.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

• John Oliver for Greg Fergus (Liberal)
• Len Webber for Tom Kmiec (Conservative)
House of Commons
• Alexandre Jacques, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Andrew Barton, Analyst
Canadian Association for Retired Persons
• Wanda Morris, Chief Advocacy and Engagement Officer
Canadian Credit Union Association
• Martha Durdin, President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Women's Foundation
• Ann Decter, Director, Community Initiatives
Canadians for Tax Fairness
• Toby Sanger, Executive Director
Equal Pay Coalition
• Fay Faraday, Co-Chair
• Janet Borowy, Co-Chair
Equal Voice
• Nancy Peckford, National Spokesperson and Executive Director
Imagine Canada
• Bill Schaper, Director, Public Policy
Macdonald-Laurier Institute
• Philip Cross, Senior Fellow
National Aboriginal Lands Managers Association
• Leona Irons, Executive Director
National Association of Women and the Law
• Suki Beavers, Project Director
Oxfam Canada
• Diana Sarosi, Policy Manager
As an individual
• Andrea Doucet, Canada Research Chair in Gender, Work and Care, Professor of Sociology, Women's and Gender Studies, Brock University
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed consideration of the subject matter of Bill C-86, A second Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on February 27, 2018, and other measures.

Wanda Morris, Ann Decter, Janet Borowy and Fay Faraday, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, Leona Irons and Andrea Doucet made statements and answered questions.

At 10:08 a.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.

At 10:18 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:57 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Martha Durdin, Toby Sanger, Nancy Peckford, Bill Schaper, Suki Beavers and Diana Sarosi made statements and answered questions.

At 11:32 a.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 11:49 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

David Gagnon
Clerk of the Committee