Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 164
Tuesday, September 18, 2018, 8:50 a.m. to 12:06 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)


• Kelly McCauley for Tom Kmiec (Conservative)
• Blake Richards for Hon. Dan Albas (Conservative)
• Kim Rudd for Raj Grewal (Liberal)
House of Commons
• Alexandre Jacques, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Brett Capstick, Analyst
• Michaël Lambert-Racine, Analyst
Assembly of First Nations
• Daniel Wilson, Special Advisor, Research and Policy Coordination
Association of Equipment Manufacturers
• Howard Mains, Canadian Public Policy Advisor
Business-Higher Education Roundtable
• Valerie Walker, Executive Director
Canadian Chamber of Commerce
• Trevin Stratton, Chief Economist
Canadian Federation of Independent Business
• Daniel Kelly, President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Home Builders' Association
• Kevin Lee, Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Housing and Renewal Association
• Jeff Morrison, Executive Director
Conference for Advanced Life Underwriting
• Guy Legault, President
• Kevin Wark
Diabetes Canada
• Kimberley Hanson, Director, Federal Affairs, Government Relations and Public Policy
Intellectual Property Institute of Canada
• Grant Lynds, Council President
Oxfam Canada
• Diana Sarosi, Policy Manager
U15 Group of Canadian Research Universities
• Gilles Patry, Executive Director
Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee commenced its pre-budget consultations in advance of the 2019 budget.

Howard Mains, Trevin Stratton, Daniel Kelly, Kevin Lee, Jeff Morrison and Grant Lynds made statements and answered questions.

At 10:21 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:27 a.m., the sitting resumed.

At 10:29 a.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.

Daniel Wilson, Valerie Walker, Guy Legault and Kimberley Hanson made statements.

At 10:49 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:11 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Diane Sarosi and Gilles Patry made statements and, with Daniel Wilson, Valerie Walker, Kevin Wark, Guy Legault and Kimberley Hanson, answered questions.

It was agreed, — That the meeting be extended until noon.

At 12:06 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

David Gagnon
Clerk of the Committee