Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 111
Tuesday, October 3, 2017, 8:51 a.m. to 12:36 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Brett Capstick, Analyst
Enterprise Machine Intelligence & Learning Initiative
• Ray Bouchard, Chair of the Board
Universities Canada
• Paul Davidson, President
Ag-West Bio Inc.
• Boni Dorish, Director, Finance, Administration and Human Resource
• Patrick Pitka, Chief Financial Officer
International Association of Heat and Frost Insulators and Allied Workers
• Vince Engel, International Vice-President, Western Canada
• Chuck Rudder, Business Manager
Thomson Jaspar and Associates
• Michael Gorniak, Partner
• Braden Turnquist, Partner
Regina and District Chamber of Commerce
• John Hopkins, Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Institute of Nuclear Physics
• Garth Huber, Executive Director, Professor, University of Regina, Department of Physics
Polytechnics Canada
• Dennis Johnson, Vice-President, Strategy and Business Development
• Kevin Rogers, Director, Applied Research and Innovation
Greater Saskatoon Chamber of Commerce
• Darla Lindbjerg, President and Chief Executive Officer
University of Saskatchewan
• Jamie Miley, Senior Strategist, Public Affairs, President's Office
North Saskatoon Business Association
• Keith Moen, Executive Director
• Brenda Wasylow, Past Chair
Canadian Neutron Initiative Working Group
• Hon. Rob Norris, Senior Strategist, Research Partnerships, Office of Vice-President Research, University of Saskatchewan
• John Root, Executive Director, Sylvia Fedoruk Canadian Centre for Nuclear Innovation Inc.
Saskatchewan Mining Association
• Pamela Schwann, President
Saskatchewan Economic Development Association
• Sean Wallace, Director, Board Representative, Economic Development of Tisdale
As an individual
• Angela Howell
• Viktoriya Kalchenko
• Tyrone McKenzie
• Sheila Taylor
• Terry Youzwa
Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations in advance of the 2018 budget.

Sheila Taylor, Tyrone McKenzie, Angela Howell and Viktoriya Kalchenko made statements.

Garth Huber, John Root, Ray Bouchard, Darla Lindbjerg, Pamela Schwann, Paul Davidson and Jamie Miley made statements, and with the Hon. Rob Norris, answered questions.

At 10:37 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:50 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Patrick Pitka, Vince Engel, Keith Moen, John Hopkins, Dennis Johnson, Sean Wallace and Michael Gorniak made statements, and with Brenda Wasylow, Braden Turnquist, Kevin Rogers and Chuck Rudder, answered questions.

At 12:04 p.m., Dan Albas took the Chair.

At 12:08 p.m., the Hon. Wayne Easter took the Chair.

At 12:23 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:29 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Terry Youzwa made a statement.

At 12:36 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Suzie Cadieux
Clerk of the Committee