Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 106
Tuesday, September 26, 2017, 10:09 a.m. to 1:09 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Naaman Sugrue, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Édison Roy-César, Analyst
• Brett Capstick, Analyst
Canadian Federation of Agriculture
• Ron Bonnett, President
• Scott Ross, Director of Business Risk Management and Farm Policy
• Jerry Dias, President
• Kaylie Tiessen, National Representative, Research Department
Canadians for Tax Fairness
• Dennis Howlett, Executive Director
Coalition for Small Business Tax Fairness
• Daniel Kelly, President and Chief Executive Officer, Canadian Federation of Independent Business
• John Wonfor, National Tax Office Leader, BDO Canada
MRSB Group
• Terry Soloman, Partner, Tax Services
As an individual
• Monika Dutt, Family Physician
• Allan Lanthier, Retired Partner of Ernst & Young and Former Chair of Canadian Tax Foundation
• Kevin Milligan, Professor of Economics, University of British Columbia
• Alain Paquet, Full Professor, School of Management, Economics Department, Université du Québec à Montréal
• Peter Weissman, Chartered Professional Accountant, Chartered Accountant, Trust and Estate Practitioner
• Denise Workun
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, September 19, 2017, the Committee commenced its study of tax planning using private corporations: contributions to the Department of Finance’s consultations.

Ron Bonnett, Scott Ross, Dennis Howlett, Daniel Kelly, John Wonfor, Jerry Dias, Kevin Mulligan and Allan Lanthier made statements and answered questions.

At 11:37 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:45 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Peter Weissman, Denise Workun, Terry Soloman, Monika Dutt and Alain Paquet made statements and answered questions.

At 1:03 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:06 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That a proposed budget in the amount of $ 22,300.00, for the study of Tax Planning Using Private Corporations: Contributions to the Department of Finance’s Consultations, be adopted.

At 1:09 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Suzie Cadieux
Clerk of the Committee