Skip to main content Start of content

FEWO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 114
Monday, October 15, 2018, 3:29 p.m. to 4:59 p.m.
Karen Vecchio, Chair (Conservative)

Library of Parliament
• Clare Annett, Analyst
• Dominique Montpetit, Analyst
Office of the Co-ordinator, Status of Women
• Justine Akman, Director General, Policy and External Relations
• Tammy Tremblay, Director, Gender Based Violence Knowledge Center
Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development
• Margaret Buist, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Education and Social Development Programs and Partnerships Branch
Department of Employment and Social Development
• Catherine Scott, Director General, Community Development and Homelessness Partnerships Directorate
• Janet Gwilliam, Manager, Community Development and Homelessness Partnering Directorate
Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation
• Charles MacArthur, Senior Vice-President, Assisted Housing
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, June 19, 2018, the Committee commenced its study of the system of shelters and transition houses serving women and children affected by violence against women and intimate partner violence.

Catherine Scott, Charles MacArthur, Justine Akman and Margaret Buist made statements and answered questions.

At 4:59 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Kenza Gamassi
Clerk of the Committee