Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 59
Thursday, May 4, 2017, 8:47 a.m. to 10:53 a.m.
Hon. Robert D. Nault, Chair (Liberal)

• Ziad Aboultaif for Hon. Peter Kent (Conservative)
• Bob Benzen for Dean Allison (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Brian Hermon, Analyst
• Scott McTaggart, Analyst
Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies
• Charles F. Doran, Professor , International Relations, Director of Canadian Studies
Canadian American Business Council
• Maryscott Greenwood, Chief Executive Officer
Centre for International Governance Innovation
• Fen Osler Hampson, Distinguished Fellow, Director of Global Security and Politics Program
As an individual
• Conrad Black
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 7, 2017, the Committee resumed its study of the United States and Canadian foreign policy.

Charles F. Doran and Fen Osler Hampson made statements and answered questions.

At 9:48 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:53 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Conrad Black, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario and Maryscott Greenwood made statements and answered questions.

At 10:48 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:49 a.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the Clerk of the Committee make the necessary arrangements for the Committee to host a working lunch on Wednesday, May 17, 2017, with a delegation of Ambassadors and Members of Parliament from the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Republic of Tajikistan, The Republic of Turkmenistan, and the Republic of Uzbekistan and guests.

At 10:53 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Angela Crandall
Clerk of the Committee