Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 26
Monday, October 17, 2016, 3:29 p.m. to 5:32 p.m.
Hon. Robert D. Nault, Chair (Liberal)

• Tom Kmiec for Alain Rayes (Conservative)
• Phil McColeman for Dean Allison (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Allison Goody, Analyst
• Brian Hermon, Analyst
Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development
• Hugh Adsett, Director General, Legal Affairs and Deputy Legal Adviser
• Marc-Yves Bertin, Director General, International Economic Policy
Royal Canadian Mounted Police
• Sgt Peter Hart, Federal Policing Criminal operations
• Supt Steve Nordstrum, Director, Federal Policing Criminal Operations, National Security
Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions
• Christine Ring, Managing Director
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, April 14, 2016, and section 20 of the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act, the Committee commenced the statutory review of the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act and the Special Economic Measures Act.

Marc-Yves Bertin made a statement and, with Hugh Adsett, answered questions.

At 4:29 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:34 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Supt Steve Nordstrum and Christine Ring made statements and, with Sgt Peter Hart, answered questions.

At 5:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Angela Crandall
Clerk of the Committee