Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 135
Tuesday, April 9, 2019, 8:47 a.m. to 10:46 a.m.
Michael Levitt, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Aimée Belmore, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Allison Goody, Analyst
• Brian Hermon, Analyst
Atlantic Council
• Daniel Fried, Distinguished Fellow
• Benjamin Haddad, Director, Future Europe Initiative
As individuals
• William Galston, Ezra K. Zilkha Chair and Senior Fellow, Governance Studies, Brookings Institution
• Staffan Lindberg, Professor, Political Science Department and Director of the V-Dem Institute, University of Gothenburg
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 26, 2019, the Committee commenced its study of Threats to liberal democracy in Europe.

Daniel Fried, by videoconference from Washington, D.C., Benjamin Haddad, by videoconference from Washington, D.C., made statements.

By unanimous consent, it was agreed, — That Staffan Lindberg be authorized to project slides in English only.

Staffan Lindberg, by videoconference, from Gothenburg, Sweden, made a statement and, with Daniel Fried and Benjamin Haddad, answered questions.

At 9:37 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:42 a.m., the sitting resumed.

William Galston, by videoconference from Washington, D.C., made a statement and answered questions.

At 10:46 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Erica Pereira
Clerk of the Committee