Skip to main content
Start of content

ETHI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 89
Tuesday, February 6, 2018, 8:52 a.m. to 10:25 a.m.
Nathaniel Erskine-Smith, Vice-Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Alexandra Savoie, Analyst
• Maxime-Olivier Thibodeau, Analyst
Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
• Stephen Millington, Acting Senior General Counsel and Executive Director
• Christopher Seidl, Executive Director, Telecommunications
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(h)(vii) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, November 22, 2017, the Committee resumed its study on net neutrality.

Christopher Seidl made a statement and answered questions.

At 9:57 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:03 a.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

Charlie Angus took the Chair.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That, notwithstanding the routine motion on staff and members attending in camera proceedings, adopted on Thursday, February 4, 2016, a student be permitted to attend the in camera portion of the meeting.

It was agreed, — That, pursuant to Standing Orders 108(3)(h)(vi) and (vii), the Committee undertake a study of digital government services, to understand how the government can improve services for Canadians while also protecting their privacy and security; and that this study begin as soon as possible.

At 10:25 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Jean-Denis Kusion
Clerk of the Committee