Skip to main content Start of content

ETHI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 83
Monday, December 11, 2017, 3:40 p.m. to 3:51 p.m.
In Camera
Bob Zimmer (Conservative)

Library of Parliament
• Maxime-Olivier Thibodeau, Analyst
The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That, pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, December 11, 2017, and to Standing Order 111.1(1), Mario Dion, nominee for the position of Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner, be invited to appear on Tuesday, December 12, 2017, for one hour in relation to his proposed appointment.

At 3:44 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:45 p.m., the sitting resumed in public.


Nathan Cullen moved, — That, pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(h)(iii), the Leader of the Government in the House of Commons be invited to appear before the Committee on Tuesday, December 12, 2017, for one hour in her capacity as the Minister responsible for the appointment of the next Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner to discuss the effectiveness, management and operation of the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner during the upcoming transition.

Debate arose thereon.

The question was put on the motion and it was negatived, by a show of hands: YEAS: 3; NAYS: 4.

At 3:51 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Hugues La Rue
Clerk of the Committee