Skip to main content Start of content

ETHI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 6
Tuesday, March 22, 2016, 8:44 a.m. to 10:28 a.m.
Joël Lightbound, Vice-Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Michael Dewing, Analyst
• Chloé Forget, Analyst
Department of Citizenship and Immigration
• Stefanie Beck, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services
• Michael Olsen, Director General, Corporate Affairs
Department of National Defence
• Kimberly Empey, Director, Directorate Access to Information and Privacy
• Larry Surtees, Corporate Secretary
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(h)(vi) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 23, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of the Access to Information Act.

Stephanie Beck and Larry Surtees made statements and, with Kimberly Empey and Michael Olsen, answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 10:00 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:16 a.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

It was agreed, — That the Committee proceed to sit in public.

At 10:18 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:18 a.m., the sitting resumed in public.

On motion of Pierre-Luc Dusseault, it was agreed, — That the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics invite the National Revenue Minister, the Honorable Diane Lebouthillier, the Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator for the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA), Marie-Claude Juneau, and the Privacy Commissioner of Canada, Daniel Therrien, to appear before the Committee to brief it and respond to questions regarding the CRA’s transfer of 155 000 files of Canadians citizens to the Internal Revenue Service of the United States of America on September 30th 2015.

At 10:21 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:21 a.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

At 10:28 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michel Marcotte
Clerk of the Committee