Skip to main content Start of content

ERRE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 40
Monday, October 17, 2016, 1:35 p.m. to 8:48 p.m.
Francis Scarpaleggia, Chair (Liberal)

• John Nater for Gérard Deltell (Conservative)
• Gabriel Ste-Marie for Luc Thériault (Bloc Québécois)
Library of Parliament
• Dara Lithwick, Analyst
• Erin Virgint, Analyst
• Hon. Dennis Glen Patterson, Senator
Nunavut Tunngavik Inc.
• James T. Arreak, Chief Executive Officer, Executive Services
• John Merritt, Legal Counsel
Nunavut Association of Municipalities
• Brian Fleming, Executive Director
Town of Iqaluit
• Kuthula Matshazi, Councillor
National Inuit Youth Council
• Maatalii Okalik
As an individual
• Hon. Paul Okalik, Member of the Legislative Assembly, Constituency of Iqaluit-Sinaa
• Jack I. Anawak
• Brad Chambers
• Terry Forth
• Thomas Ahlfors
• Victor Tootoo
• Aaron Watson
• Peter Williamson
• Franco Siutiapik Buscemi
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, June 7, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of electoral reform.

James T. Arreak and Brian Flemming made statements and, with John Merritt, answered questions.

At 3:10 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:21 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Dennis Glen Patterson, Terry Forth, Kuthula Matshazi and Brad Chambers made statements and answered questions.

At 5:10 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:28 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Jack Anawack, Paul Okalik, Franco Siutiapik Buscemi and Victor Tootoo made statements and answered questions.

At 8:22 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 8:24 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Peter Williamson, Thomas Ahlfors, Aaron Watson and Maatalii Okalik made statements.

At 8:48 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Lafrance,
Danielle Widmer
Clerks of the Committee