Skip to main content Start of content

ERRE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 38
Thursday, October 6, 2016, 1:33 p.m. to 8:06 p.m.
Francis Scarpaleggia, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Dara Lithwick, Analyst
• Erin Virgint, Analyst
As an individual
• Peter Bevan Baker
• Philip Brown
• Don Desserud, Professor, Department of Political Science, University of Prince Edward Island
• Anna Keenan, Electoral Reform Advocate
• Leo Cheverie
• Mary Cowper-Smith
• Donna Dingwell
• Teresa Doyle
• George Hunter
• Peter Kizoff
• Darcie Lanthier
• Ron MacMillan
• Lucy Morkunas
• Lewis Newman
• Brenda Oslawsky
• Sylvia Poirier
• Eleanor Reddin
• Patrick Reid
• Judy Shaw
• Josh Underhay
Special Legislative Committee on Democratic Renewal
• Jordan Brown, Chair, Legislative Assembly of Prince Edward Island
Cooper Institute
• Marie Burge, Member
PEI Council of People with Disabilities
• Marcia Carroll, Executive Director
P.E.I. Advisory Council on the Status of Women
• Jane Ledwell, Executive Director
Commission on P.E.I.’s Electoral Future
• Leonard Russell, Chair
PEI Coalition for Women in Government
• Dawn Wilson, Executive Director
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, June 7, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of electoral reform.

Leonard Russel and Jordan Brown made statements and answered questions.

At 3:01 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:09 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Jane Ledwell, Marcia Carroll and Marie Burge made statements and answered questions.

At 3:09 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:12 p.m., the sitting resumed.

George Hunter, Brenda Oslawsky, Mary Cowper-Smith, Sylvia Poirier, Judy Shaw, Donna Dingwell, Lewis Newman, Darcie Lanthier, Josh Underhay and Leo Cheverie made statements.

At 5:02 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:10 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Anna Keenan, Dawn Wilson and Don Desserud made statements and answered questions.

Peter Bevan Baker, Eleanor Reddin, Lucy Morkunas, Teresa Doyle, Philip Brown, Ron Macmillan, Peter Kizoff and Patrick Reid made statements.

At 8:06 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Lafrance,
Danielle Widmer
Clerks of the Committee