Skip to main content Start of content

ERRE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 36
Tuesday, October 4, 2016, 1:34 p.m. to 8:06 p.m.
Francis Scarpaleggia, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Dara Lithwick, Analyst
• Erin Virgint, Analyst
As individuals
• James Bickerton, Professor
• Kenneth Dewar, Professor
• Matt Risser
• Denis Falvey
• Michael Marshall
• Robert Batherson
• Deirdre Wear
• Shauna Wilcox
• William Zimmerman
• Howard Epstein
• Nan McFadgen
• Marlene Wells
• Stephen Chafe
• Suzanne MacNeil
• Thomas Trappenberg
• David Blackwell
• Michael McFadden
• Kim Vance
• David Barrett
• Brian Gifford
• Larry Pardy
• Aubrey Fricker
• Daniel Sokolov
• Francis MacGillivray
• Chris Maxwell
• Alan Ruffman
• Hannah Dawson-Murphy
• Richard Zurawski
• Matthew McMillan
• Robert Berard
• Daniel Makenzie
• Patrice Deschênes
• Suzanne Hauer
Democracy: Vox Populi
• Christopher Majka, Director
• Jessica Smith
Springtide Collective
• Mark Coffin, Executive Director
Fair Vote Nova Scotia
• Andy Blair, President
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, June 7, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of electoral reform.

James Bickerton and Kenneth Dewar made statements and answered questions.

At 3:02 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:12 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Matt Risser and Christopher Majka made statements and, with Denis Falvey, answered questions.

Michael Marshall, Robert Batherson, Deirdre Wear, Shauna Wilcox, Jessica Smith, William Zimmerman, Howard Epstein, Nan McFadgen, Marlene Wells, Stephen Chafe, Suzanne MacNeil, Thomas Trappenberg, David Blackwell, Michael McFadden, Kim Vance, David Barrett and Brian Gifford made statements.

At 5:08 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:19 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Mark Coffin, Andy Blair and Larry Pardy made statements and answered questions.

Aubrey Fricker, Daniel Sokolov, Francis MacGillivray, Chris Maxwell, Alan Ruffman, Hannah Dawson-Murphy, Richard Zurawski, Matthew McMillan, Robert Berard, Daniel Makenzie, Patrice Deschênes and Suzanne Hauer made statements.

At 8:06 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Lafrance,
Danielle Widmer
Clerks of the Committee