Skip to main content Start of content

ERRE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 32
Wednesday, September 28, 2016, 1:38 p.m. to 10:04 p.m.
Francis Scarpaleggia, Lac-Saint-Louis (Liberal)

• Pat Kelly for Blake Richards (Conservative)
• Gabriel Ste-Marie for Luc Thériault (Bloc Québécois)
Library of Parliament
• Dara Lithwick, Analyst
• Erin Virgint, Analyst
As an individual
• David Moscrop, Ph.D. Candidate, Department of Political Science, University of British Columbia
• Nick Loenen
• Megan Dias, Graduate student, Department of Political Science, University of British Columbia
• Christopher Kam, Associate Professor, Department of Political Science, University of British Columbia
• Mario Canseco, Vice President, Public Affairs, Insights West
• Patrick Jeffery Jewell
• Barbara Simons
• Eline de Rooij
• Harley Lang, Graduate Student Researcher
• Timothy John Jones
• Maxwell Gerard Anderson
• David A. Hutcheon
• Krista Lee Munro
• Lesley Bernbaum
• Maurice Earl Mills
• Ian Paul Forster
• Myer Grinshpan
• David Huntley
• Gail Milner
• Alex Tunner
• Jason McLaren
• Gavin McGarrigle
• Richard Prest
• Valerie Brown
• Keith Poore
• Bijan Michael Sepehri
• Alison Jean Watt
• Grant Munro Fraser
• Benjamin Harris
• Colin L. Soskolne
• Ariane Eckardt
• Siegfried Eckardt
• Angela Smailes
• Derek Thomas Smith
• Kelly Shawn Reid
• Iain Macanulty
• Elaine Margaret Allan
• Jane Spitz
• William Dunkley
• Zak Mndebele
• Rachel Tetrault
• Valerie Sing Turner
• Roy Grinshpan
• Jackie Deroo
• Colleen Hardwick
• Derek Brackley
• Jon Lumer
• Andreas Schulz
• Ellen Woodsworth
• Greg DePaco
• Lynne Quarmby
• Brian Couche
• David Matthews
• Jana MacDonald
• Dana Dolezsar
• Dave Carter
• Gordon Shank
• Rod Zahavi
• Norman Franks
• Erik Paulsson
• Jerry Chen
• Brian Whiteford
• Duncan Graham
• Ellena Lawrence
• Stephen Bohus
• Paul Keenleyside
• Dave Hayer
• Elizabeth Lockhart
• Andrew Saxton
• Tamara Jansen
• Les Pickard
• Marc Schenker
• Ben Cornwell-Mott
• Jacquelyn Miller
• Hans Julian Sloman
• Derek Collins
• Ivan Filippov
• Sheldon Starrett
• Meara Brown
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, June 7, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of electoral reform.

David Moscrop, Nick Loenen and Megan Dias made statements and answered questions.

At 2:59 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:14 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Christopher Kam, Mario Canseco and Patrick Jeffery Jewell made statements and answered questions.

Timothy John Jones, Maxwell Gerard Anderson, David A. Hutcheon, Krista Lee Munro, Lesley Bernbaum, Maurice Earl Mills, Ian Paul Forster, Myer Grinshpan, David Huntley, Gail Milner, Alex Tunner, Jason McLaren, Gavin McGarrigle, Richard Prest, Valerie Brown, Keith Poore, Bijan Michael Sepehri, Alison Jean Watt, Grant Munro Fraser, Benjamin Harris and Colin L. Soskolne made statements.

At 5:25 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:31 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Barbara Simons, Eline de Rooij and Harley Lang made statements and answered questions.

At 7:54 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 8:00 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Ariane Eckardt, Siegfried Eckardt, Angela Smailes, Derek Thomas Smith, Kelly Shawn Reid, Ian Macanulty, Elaine Margaret Allan, Jane Spitz, Colleen Hardwick, William Dunkley, Zak Mndebele, Rachel Tetrault, Valerie Sing Turner, Roy Grinshpan, Jackie Deroo, Derek Brackley, Jon Lumer, Andreas Schulz, Ellen Woodsworth, Greg DePaco, Lynne Quarmby, Brian Couche, David Matthews, Jana MacDonald, Dana Dolezsar, Dave Carter, Gordon Shank, Rod Zahavi, Norman Franks, Erik Paulsson, Jerry Chen, Brian Whiteford, Duncan Graham, Ellena Lawrence, Stephen Bohus, Paul Keenleyside, Dave Hayer, Elizabeth Lockhart, Andrew Saxton, Tamara Jansen, Les Pickard, Marc Schenker, Ben Cornwell-Mott, Jacquelyn Miller, Hans Julian Sloman, Derek Collins, Ivan Filippov, Sheldon Starrett and Meara Brown made statements.

At 10:04 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Lafrance,
Danielle Widmer
Clerks of the Committee