Skip to main content Start of content

ERRE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 23
Thursday, September 1, 2016, 9:44 a.m. to 12:23 p.m.
Francis Scarpaleggia, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Dara Lithwick, Analyst
• Erin Virgint, Analyst
Institute for Research on Public Policy
• Graham Fox, President and Chief Executive Officer
As an individual
• David McLaughlin
• Craig Scott, Professor of Law, Osgoode Hall Law School, York University
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, June 7, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of electoral reform.

David McLaughlin, Craig Scott and Graham Fox made statements and answered questions.

At 12:12 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:14 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

It was agreed, — That, in relation to its meetings across Canada to consult Canadians on Electoral Reform, the Chair, with support of the Clerks and Analysts, have the authority to make necessary arrangements to promote the work of the Committee, such as the publication of news releases with local media, and if necessary, that the Chair may make a request to the Board of Internal Economy for additional resources.

At 12:23 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Lafrance,
Danielle Widmer
Clerks of the Committee