Skip to main content Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 24
Thursday, June 16, 2016, 11:01 a.m. to 1:05 p.m.
Deborah Schulte, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Penny Becklumb, Analyst
• Tim Williams, Analyst
House of Commons
• Grant McLaughlin, Procedural Clerk
Industry Coordinating Group for CEPA
• Amardeep Khosla, Executive Director
Mohawk Council of Akwesasne
• Henry Lickers, Environmental Science Officer, Environment Program
As an individual
• Miriam Diamond, Professor, Department of Earth Sciences, University of Toronto
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, March 22, 2016 and section 343 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, February 25, 2016, the Committee resumed the statutory review of the Act.

Miriam Diamond, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, Henry Lickers, and Amardeep Khosla made statements and answered questions.

At 12:35 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:37 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That a proposed budget in the amount of $21,100.00, for the study of Climate Change, be adopted.

It was agreed, — That David Hughes be invited to appear on Tuesday, June 21, 2016 and notwithstanding the motion adopted on Tuesday, May 17, 2016 regarding the questioning of witnesses, the committee allow each witness eight minutes to make their opening statements for this meeting.

At 1:05 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Cynara Corbin
Clerk of the Committee