Skip to main content Start of content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 78
Monday, October 2, 2017, 3:30 p.m. to 5:45 p.m.
Hon. Mark Eyking, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Karine Parenteau, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Simon Richards, Analyst
• Pascal Tremblay, Analyst
Government of Quebec
• Raymond Bachand, Chief Negotiator for NAFTA and Strategic Advisor for Norton Rose Fulbright
The Organization of Women in International Trade
• Ainsley Butler, Representative, Ottawa Chapter
• Alma Farias, Representative, Toronto Chapter
Oxfam Canada
• Julie Delahanty, Executive Director
• Francesca Rhodes, Women's Rights Policy and Advocacy Specialist
Spirits Canada
• C.J. Helie, Executive Vice-President
• Jan Westcott, President and Chief Executive Officer
United Parcel Service of America Inc.
• Aylin Lusi, Vice-President, Public Affairs, UPS Canada
Women's Enterprise Organizations of Canada
• Marcela Mandeville, Director
As an individual
• Pierre Marc Johnson, Senior Counsel, Lavery, de Billy
• Gus Van Harten, Professor of Law, Osgoode Hall Law School, York University
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, February 16, 2017, the Committee resumed its study of priorities of Canadian stakeholders having an interest in bilateral and trilateral trade in North America, between Canada, United States and Mexico.

Jan Wescott, Ainsley Butler and Marcela Mandeville, by videoconference from Edmonton, Alberta, made statements and, with Alma Farias, answered questions.

At 4:17 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:20 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Gus Van Harten, by videoconference from Oakville, Ontario, Julie Delahanty and Aylin Lusi made statements and, with Francesca Rhodes, answered questions.

At 5:00 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:03 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Raymond Bachand and Pierre Marc Johnson made statements and answered questions.

At 5:45 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee