Skip to main content Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 78
Wednesday, October 18, 2017, 3:32 p.m. to 5:45 p.m.
Hon. Hedy Fry, Chair (Liberal)


• David Anderson for Hon. Peter Van Loan (Conservative)
• Hon. Michael D. Chong for Martin Shields (Conservative)
• Jenny Kwan for Pierre Nantel (NDP)
• Scott Reid for Robert Kitchen (Conservative)
• David Sweet for Martin Shields (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Erin Virgint, Analyst
Centre for Israel and Jewish Affairs
• Shimon Fogel, Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Council of Imams
• Sikander Hashmi, Spokesperson
B'nai Brith Canada
• Michael Mostyn, Chief Executive Officer, National Office
• David Matas, Senior Legal Counsel, National Office
African Canadian Legal Clinic
• Tamara Thomas, Policy Researcher and Analyst
As an individual
• Reuven Bulka, Congregation Machzikei Hadas
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, April 4, 2017, the Committee resumed its study of systemic racism and religious discrimination.

Reuven Bulka, Michael Mostlyn, David Matas and Shimon Fogel made statements and answered questions.

At 4:35 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:36 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Tamara Thomas and Sikander Hashmi made statements and answered questions.

At 5:30 p.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.

At 5:45 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee