Skip to main content Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 142
Tuesday, February 19, 2019, 3:30 p.m. to 8:05 p.m.
Julie Dabrusin, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Erin Virgint, Analyst
• Hon. Pablo Rodriguez, P.C., M.P., Minister of Canadian Heritage and Multiculturalism
As individuals
• Marsha Ireland
• Max Ireland
Department of Canadian Heritage
• Hélène Laurendeau, Deputy Minister
• Stephen Gagnon, Director General, Aboriginal Affairs Directorate
• Mélanie Théberge, Manager, Policy and Research, Indigenous Languages Legislation
First Peoples' Cultural Council
• Tracey Herbert, Chief Executive Officer
• Suzanne Gessner, Language Manager
Métis National Council
• Clément Chartier, President
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee commenced consideration of the subject matter of Bill C-91, An Act respecting Indigenous languages.

The Minister made a statement and, with Hélène Laurendeau and Stephen Gagnon, answered questions.

At 4:32 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:39 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Hélène Laurendeau, Stephen Gagnon and Mélanie Théberge answered questions.

At 5:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:00 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Clément Chartier, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, made a statement and answered questions.

At 6:53 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:05 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Tracey Herbert, Marsha Ireland and Max Ireland made statements and, with Suzanne Gessner, answered questions.

At 8:05 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Graeme Truelove
Clerk of the Committee