Skip to main content Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 135
Tuesday, December 4, 2018, 11:01 a.m. to 12:58 p.m.
Julie Dabrusin, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Erin Virgint, Analyst
As an individual
• Ariel Katz, Associate Professor and Innovation Chair, Electronic Commerce, University of Toronto
House of Anansi Press / Groundwood Books
• Matt Williams, Vice-President, Publishing Operations
• Monia Mazigh, Author
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, March 29, 2018, the Committee resumed its study of remuneration models for artists and creative industries.

Ariel Katz, Matt Williams and Monia Mazigh made statements and answered questions.

At 11:56 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:02 p.m., the sitting resumed.

• Hon. Pablo Rodriguez, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Multiculturalism
Department of Canadian Heritage
• Andrew Francis, Chief Financial Officer
• Jean-Stéphen Piché, Assistant Deputy Minister, Cultural Affairs
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee commenced consideration of the Supplementary Estimates (A), 2018-19: Vote 1a under Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission, Votes 1a and 5a under Department of Canadian Heritage, Vote 1a under National Film Board, Vote 1a under Telefilm Canada, referred to the Committee on Wednesday, October 24, 2018.

The Minister, Jean-Stéphen Piché and Andrew Francis made statements and answered questions.

At 12:58 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Graeme Truelove
Clerk of the Committee