Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 118
Tuesday, September 18, 2018, 11:23 a.m. to 1:13 p.m.
Julie Dabrusin, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Erin Virgint, Analyst
Pursuant to Standing Order 106(2), the Clerk of the Committee proceeded to the election of Vice-Chairs.

On motion of Martin Shields, it was agreed, — That Hon. Steven Blaney be elected First Vice-Chair of the Committee.

As an individual
• Bryan Adams, Artist
Vanderbilt University Law School
• Daniel J. Gervais, Milton R. Underwood Chair in Law, President, International Association for the Advancement of Teaching and Research in Intellectual Property
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, March 29, 2018, the Committee resumed its study of remuneration models for artists and creative industries.

Bryan Adams and Daniel J. Gervais, by videoconference from Nashville, Tennessee, made statements and answered questions.

At 12:15 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:24 p.m., the sitting resumed.

As individuals
• Bill Casey, M.P., Cumberland Colchester, Nova Scotia
• Joel Henderson
Millbrook Cultural and Heritage Centre
• Heather Stevens, Operations Supervisor
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, June 6, 2018, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-391, An Act respecting a national strategy for the repatriation of Aboriginal cultural property.

Bill Casey, Heather Stevens made statements and, with Joel Henderson, answered questions.

At 1:13 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee