Skip to main content Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 106
Tuesday, May 1, 2018, 8:43 a.m. to 10:40 a.m.
Julie Dabrusin, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Erin Virgint, Analyst
Ottawa Art Gallery
• Alexandra Badzak, Director and Chief Executive Officer
National Arts Centre
• Adrian Burns, Chair, Board of Trustees
• Debbie Collins, Executive Director, Human Resources
• Christina Loewen, Executive Director
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, February 7, 2018, the Committee commenced its study of gender parity on the boards and senior leadership levels of Canadian artistic and cultural organizations.

Christina Loewen, Alexandra Badzak, Adrian Burns made statements and, with Debbie Collins, answered questions.

Pierre Nantel gave notice of the following motion:

That the Committee invite the Chair of the Board of Trustees of the National Gallery of Canada, Françoise Lyon, the director of the National Gallery, Marc Mayer, the Chairperson of the Canadian Cultural Property Export Review Board, Sharilyn J. Ingram, and the Department of Canadian Heritage, within 45 days, to explain decisions concerning Marc Chagall's La tour Eiffel and Jacques-Louis David's Saint Jerome Hears the Trumpet of the Last Judgment and to account to the Committee for these decisions' cost to the public.

At 9:38 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:45 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Canadian Association of Fairs and Exhibitions
• Christina Franc, Executive Director
Rosebud School of the Arts
• Jack Hayden, Chair, Board of Govenors
• Frank Nickel, Executive Director
Fédération culturelle canadienne-française
• Marie-Christine Morin, Acting Executive Director
• Martin Théberge, President
Arts Commons
• Johann Zietsman, President and Chief Executive Officer
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, April 11, 2017, the Committee resumed its study of Cultural Hubs and Cultural Districts in Canada.

Jack Hayden, by videoconference from Calgary, Alberta, Johann Zietsman, by videoconference from Calgary, Alberta, Christina Franc, Martin Théberge made statements and, with Frank Nickel, by videoconference from Calgary, Alberta, and Marie-Christine Morin, answered questions.

At 10:40 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee