Skip to main content Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 107
Thursday, September 27, 2018, 8:44 a.m. to 10:45 a.m.
Pat Finnigan, Chair (Liberal)

• Michael Cooper for Earl Dreeshen (Conservative)
• Hon. Kent Hehr for Eva Nassif (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Khamla Heminthavong, Analyst
Groupe Leader Plus Inc.
• Pierre Beaulieu, Chief Executive Officer, Agriculture
Canadian Federation of Agriculture
• Ron Bonnett, President
Union des producteurs agricoles
• Martin Caron, First Vice-President
• Pierre-Nicolas Girard, Consultant in Mental Health
Contact Richelieu-Yamaska
• Alain d'Amours, General Director
University of Guelph
• Andria Jones-Bitton, Associate Professor, Ontario Veterinary College
Do More Agriculture Foundation
• Lesley Kelly, Co-Founder
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, April 23, 2018, the Committee resumed its study of mental health challenges that Canadian farmers, ranchers, and producers face.

Martin Caron, Pierre-Nicolas Girard, by videoconference from Longueuil, Quebec, Alain D'Amours and Andria Jones-Bitten made statements and answered questions.

On motion of Luc Berthold, it was agreed, — That, in relation with the study of mental health challenges that Canadian farmers, ranchers, and producers face, future meetings be televised when multimedia services permit, and that witnesses be notified.

At 9:42 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:48 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Ron Bonnett, Pierre Beaulieu, by videoconference from Montreal, Quebec, and Lesley Kelly, by videoconference from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, made statements and answered questions.

At 10:45 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Ariane Gagné-Frégeau
Clerk of the Committee