Skip to main content Start of content

ACVA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 117
Monday, May 6, 2019, 3:27 p.m. to 4:33 p.m.
Neil R. Ellis, Chair (Liberal)

• Michael Cooper for Phil McColeman (Conservative)
• Marilyn Gladu for Robert Kitchen (Conservative)
• T.J. Harvey for Darrell Samson (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Jean-Rodrigue Paré, Analyst
Department of National Defence
• RAdm Haydn Edmundson, Deputy Commander, Military Personnel Command
• BGen Andrew Downes, Surgeon General
• Col Rakesh Jetly, Senior Psychiatrist and Mental Health Advisor, Directorate of Mental Health, Canadian Forces Health Services Group
Department of Veterans Affairs
• Dr. Cyd Courchesne, Director General, Health Professionals Division, Chief Medical Officer
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, November 1, 2018, the Committee resumed its study of the effects of mefloquine use among Canadian veterans.

Haydn Edmundson and Andrew Downes made statements and, with Rakesh Jetly and Cyd Courchesne, answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

On motion of Doug Eyolfson, it was agreed, — That a proposed budget in the amount of $16,100, for the study of the effects of mefloquine use among Canadian veterans, be adopted.

At 4:33 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Clerk of the Committee