Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 40
Wednesday, July 9, 2014

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met in a televised session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, Mike Wallace, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Françoise Boivin, Sean Casey, Bob Dechert, Robert Goguen, Pierre Jacob, Ève Péclet, Mike Wallace and David Wilks.


Acting Members present: Stella Ambler for Kyle Seeback and Joy Smith for Patrick Brown.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Lyne Casavant, Analyst; Dominique Valiquet, Analyst. House of Commons: Chloé O'Shaughnessy, Procedural Clerk.


Witnesses: As individuals: Jeanne Sarson; Linda MacDonald. Exploited Voices Now Educating: Trisha Baptie, Community Engagement Coordinator. Northern Women's Connection: Larissa Crack, Co-founder; Heather Dukes, Co-founder. British Columbia Civil Liberties Association: Josh Paterson, Executive Director. PACE Society: Sheri Kiselbach, Coordinator, Violence Prevention; Laura Dilley, Executive Director.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, June 16, 2014, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-36, An Act to amend the Criminal Code in response to the Supreme Court of Canada decision in Attorney General of Canada v. Bedford and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

Françoise Boivin moved, — That the Chair ask the Minister of Justice to table the Ipsos Reid survey on prostitution before Tuesday, July 15, 2014.


The question was put on the motion and it was negatived, by a show of hands: YEAS: 3; NAYS: 5.


Jeanne Sarson, Linda MacDonald, Trisha Baptie, Larissa Crack, Heather Dukes and with Josh Paterson, Sheri Kiselbach and Laura Dilley, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, made statements and answered questions.


At 5:34 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2014/07/11 11:25 a.m.