Skip to main content Start of content

INDU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 48
Thursday, May 28, 2015

The Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology met at 11:05 a.m. this day, in Room 112-N, Centre Block, the Chair, David Sweet, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: John Carmichael, Joe Daniel, Hon. Mike Lake, Brian Masse, Annick Papillon, David Sweet and Mark Warawa.


Acting Members present: Malcolm Allen for Peggy Nash, Larry Maguire for Cheryl Gallant and Hon. John McKay for Hon. Judy Sgro.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mathieu Frigon, Analyst. Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure of the Standing Committee on Government Operations and Estimates: Édison Roy-César.


Witnesses: Department of Industry: John Knubley, Deputy Minister; Philip Jennings, Assistant Deputy Minister, Industry Sector; Lawrence Hanson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Science and Innovation; Paul Halucha, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Sector; David Enns, Chief Financial Officer, Corporate Management Sector ; Fiona Gilfillan, Director General, Spectrum Licensing Policy Branch.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(4), the Committee resumed consideration of the Main Estimates 2015-16: Votes 1 and 5 under ATLANTIC CANADA OPPORTUNITIES AGENCY, Votes 1, 5 and 10 under CANADIAN SPACE AGENCY, Vote 1 under CANADIAN TOURISM COMMISSION, Vote 1 under COPYRIGHT BOARD, Votes 1 and 5 under ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AGENCY OF CANADA FOR THE REGIONS OF QUEBEC, Votes 1 and 5 under FEDERAL ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AGENCY FOR SOUTHERN ONTARIO, Votes 1, 5, 10, L15 and L20 under INDUSTRY, Votes 1, 5 and 10 under NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL OF CANADA, Votes 1 and 5 under NATURAL SCIENCES AND ENGINEERING RESEARCH COUNCIL, Votes 1 and 5 under SOCIAL SCIENCES AND HUMANITIES RESEARCH COUNCIL, Vote 1 under STANDARDS COUNCIL OF CANADA, Vote 1 under STATISTICS CANADA and Votes 1 and 5 under WESTERN ECONOMIC DIVERSIFICATION, referred to the Committee on Tuesday, February 24, 2015.

The Chair called Vote 1 under INDUSTRY.


John Knubley made a statement and, with Philip Jennings, David Enns and Lawrence Hanson answered questions.


At 12:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Roger Préfontaine
Clerk of the Committee

2015/05/29 9:47 a.m.