Skip to main content Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 68
Thursday, June 18, 2015

The Standing Committee on Health met at 3:47 p.m. this day, in Room 306, The Valour Building, the Chair, Ben Lobb, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Wladyslaw Lizon, Ben Lobb, Cathy McLeod, Christine Moore, Murray Rankin, Lawrence Toet and Terence Young.


Acting Members present: Rob Clarke for David Wilks, Ted Hsu for Hon. Hedy Fry and Mike Sullivan for Matthew Kellway.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Havi Echenberg, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Health: Kelley Bush, Section Head, Radon Education and Awareness, Radiation Protection Bureau, Environmental and Radiation Health Sciences Directorate, Healthy Environments and Consumer Safety Branch. Canadian Partnership for Children's Health and Enviroment: Erica Phipps, Executive Director. Canadian Environmental Law Association: Kathleen Cooper, Senior Researcher and Paralegal. BC Centre for Disease Control: Sarah Henderson, Senior Scientist, Environmental Health Services. National Collaborating Centre for Environmental Health: Tom Kosatsky, Scientific Director. As an individual: Anne-Marie Nicol, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences, Simon Fraser University.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, May 28, 2015, the Committee resumed its study of lung cancer in Canada.

Kathleen Cooper, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, Erica Phipps and Kelley Bush made statements and answered questions.


At 4:38 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:40 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Tom Kosatsky, Sarah Henderson and Anne-Marie Nicol made statements and answered questions.


At 5:36 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2015/06/19 9:53 a.m.