Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 6
Monday, November 18, 2013

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Guy Caron, Raymond Côté, Randy Hoback, Gerald Keddy, Peggy Nash, James Rajotte, Murray Rankin, Andrew Saxton and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Ted Hsu for Hon. Scott Brison.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst; Michaël Lambert-Racine, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Finance: Dan Calof, Director, Financial Markets Division; Ted Cook, Senior Legislative Chief, Tax Legislation Division, Tax Policy Branch; Alix Dostal, Chief, Financial Sector Division; Rachel Grasham, Chief, Financial Sector Division; Tara Gray, Senior Policy Analyst, Labour, Market, Employment Learning; Soren Halverson, Senior Chief, Corporate Finance and Asset Management; Sean Keenan, Director, Sales Tax Division; Michèle Legault-Dooley, Senior Project Leader, Financial Institution Analysis; François Masse, Chief, Labour, Market Employment Learning; Pierre Mercille, Senior Legislative Chief, GST Legislation; David Murchison, Director, Financial Sector Division; Elisha Ram, Director, Microeconomic Policy Analysis; Jeremy Rudin, Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Sector Policy Branch; Eleanor Ryan, Senior Chief, Financial Institutions Division; Geoff Trueman, General Director (Analysis), Tax Policy Branch; Kevin Wright, Chief, Financial Markets Division; James Wu, Chief, Financial Institutions Division. Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency: Mitch Bloom, Vice-President, Policy, Planning, Communications and Northern Projects Management Office; Kate Ledgerwood, Acting Director of Policy. Canada Revenue Agency: Ray Cuthbert, Director, CPP/EI Rulings Division, Legislative Policy Directorate. Department of Human Resources and Skills Development: Michael Duffy, Director, Legislative Policy Analysis, Employment Insurance Policy, Skills and Employment Branch; Brian Hickey, Director, Policy Initiatives and Issues Management; Annette Ryan, Director General, Employment Insurance Policy, Skills and Employment Branch; Campion Carruthers, Director, Program Integrity, Temporary Foreign Workers, Skills and Employment Branch. Department of Justice: Sonia Beaulieu, Lawyer, Tax Counsel Division; Dora Benbaruk, Director and General Counsel, Treasury Board Secretariat Legal Services; Diana Cacic, Counsel, General Legal Services Division, Finance Canada. National Research Council Canada: Dick Bourgeois-Doyle, Director, Corporate Governance, Secretary General's Office; Patricia Mortimer, Executive Vice-President and Secretary General. Department of Natural Resources: Tim Gardiner, Director, Energy Systems Management, Petroleum Resources Branch. Privy Council Office: David Dendooven, Director of Strategic Policy, Machinery of Government. Department of Transport: Aline MacDougall, Director, Portfolio Policy and Governance; April Nakatsu, Director General, Crown Corporation Governance. Treasury Board Secretariat: Carl Trottier, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Compensation and Labour Relations Sector; Dennis Duggan, Senior Policy Analyst, Compensation and Labour Relations Sector; Don Graham, Executive Director, Compensation and Labour Relations Sector; Drew Heavens, Senior Director, Compensation and Labour Relations Sector. Department of Veterans Affairs: Dale Sharkey, Director General, Veterans Review and Appeal Board.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, October 29, 2013, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-4, A second act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 21, 2013 and other measures.

Ted Cook, Ray Cuthbert, Michael Duffy, Annette Ryan and Soren Halverson made statements and, with Sean Keenan, Geoff Trueman, Pierre Mercille, François Masse, Jeremy Rudin, Tim Gardiner, Mitch Bloom, Dennis Duggan, Drew Heavens, Don Graham and Dora Benbaruk, answered questions.


At 4:10 p.m., Dave Van Kesteren took the Chair.


At 4:12 p.m., James Rajotte took the Chair.


At 5:08 p.m., Dave Van Kesteren took the Chair.


At 5:10 p.m., James Rajotte took the Chair.


At 5:57 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2013/12/05 4:10 p.m.