Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 57
Monday, November 17, 2014

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:32 p.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Mike Allen, Guy Caron, Nathan Cullen, Gerald Keddy, James Rajotte, Murray Rankin, Andrew Saxton and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Francis Scarpaleggia for Hon. Scott Brison.


In attendance: House of Commons: David Chandonnet, Procedural Clerk. Library of Parliament: Michaël Lambert-Racine, Analyst; Mark Mahabir, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Media Production Association: Michael Hennessy, President and Chief Executive Officer. Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada: Bruce Ball, National Tax Partner, BDO Canada LLP, Tax Policy Committee. Investment Funds Institute of Canada: James Carman, Senior Policy Advisor, Taxation. IT International Telecom Inc.: James Michael Kennah, Co-President. As an individual: Lindsay Tedds, Associate Professor, University of Victoria. Canadian Airports Council: Daniel-Robert Gooch, President. Canadian Network of Northern Research Operators: James Drummond, Professor, Physics, Dalhousie University. Canadian Polar Commission: David J. Scott, Executive Director. International Arctic Science Committee: David Hik, Member, Executive Committee, Professor, University of Alberta. Romero House: Jenn McIntyre, Director; Alexandra Jimenez.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, November 3, 2014, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-43, A second Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on February 11, 2014 and other measures.

Michael Hennessy, Bruce Ball, James Carman, James Michael Kennah and Lindsay Tedds, by videoconference from Victoria, British Columbia, made statements and answered questions.


At 4:57 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:04 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Daniel-Robert Gooch, James Drummond, David J. Scott, David Hik and Jenn McIntyre made statements and, with Alexandra Jimenez, answered questions.


At 6:28 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2014/11/20 10:17 a.m.