Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 34
Tuesday, May 13, 2014

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Adler, Mike Allen, Hon. Scott Brison, Guy Caron, Nathan Cullen, James Rajotte, Murray Rankin, Andrew Saxton and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: John Weston for Gerald Keddy.


Other Members present: Alex Atamanenko.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst; Michaël Lambert-Racine, Analyst.


Witnesses: As an individual: Allison Christians, Professor, H. Heward Stikeman Chair in Tax Law, McGill University. Credit Union Central of Canada: Marc-André Pigeon, Director, Financial Sector Policy. Moodys Gartner Tax Law LLP: Roy Berg, Director, US Tax Law. Investment Industry Association of Canada: Ian Russell, President and Chief Executive Officer. As an individual: Arthur Cockfield, Professor, Faculty of Law, Queen's University. Investment Funds Institute of Canada: Ralf Hensel, General Counsel, Corporate Secretary and Director of Policy. Portfolio Management Association of Canada: Katie Walmsley, President. As individuals: Lynne Swanson; Max Reed, Attorney, White and Case LLP.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, April 8, 2014, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-31, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on February 11, 2014 and other measures.

Allison Christians, Marc-André Pigeon, Roy Berg and Ian Russell, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, made statements and answered questions.


At 4:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:36 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Arthur Cockfield, Ralf Hensel, Katie Walmsley, Lynne Swanson, by videoconference from London, Ontario, and Max Reed, by videoconference from New York, New York, made statements and answered questions.


At 5:17 p.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.


At 5:35 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2014/05/14 3:16 p.m.