Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 63
Tuesday, June 2, 2015

The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development met at 11:04 a.m. this day, in Room 268, The Valour Building, the Chair, Dean Allison, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dean Allison, Lois Brown, Paul Dewar, Marc Garneau, Peter Goldring, Hon. Laurie Hawn, Hélène Laverdière, Gary Ralph Schellenberger and Bernard Trottier.


Acting Members present: Anne-Marie Day for Romeo Saganash.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Allison Goody, Analyst; Brian Hermon, Analyst.


Witnesses: Embassy of the United Mexican States: H.E. Francisco Suarez Davila, Ambassador of the United Mexican States to Canada. Canadian Council of Chief Executives: Eric Miller, Vice-President, Policy, Innovation and Competitiveness; John R. Dillon, Vice-President, Policy and Corporate Counsel. BMO Financial Group: David Jacobson, Vice Chairman. As an individual: Laura Dawson, Director, Canada Institute, Woodrow Wilson Centre.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, May 7, 2015, the Committee resumed its study Towards the Next North American Leaders' Summit.

H.E. Francisco Suarez Davila, Eric Miller, John R. Dillon, David Jacobson and Laura Dawson, by videoconference from Washington, D.C., made statements and answered questions.


At 12:49 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:52 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to give drafting instructions to the analysts for a report.

At 12:53 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Joann Garbig
Clerk of the Committee

2015/06/02 2:09 p.m.