Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 53
Tuesday, March 31, 2015

The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development met at 11:02 a.m. this day, in Room 306, The Valour Building, the Chair, Dean Allison, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dean Allison, Lois Brown, Paul Dewar, Marc Garneau, Peter Goldring, Hon. Laurie Hawn, Hélène Laverdière, Romeo Saganash, Gary Ralph Schellenberger and Bernard Trottier.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Allison Goody, Analyst; Brian Hermon, Analyst.


Witnesses: Oxfam Canada: Caroline Marrs, Director, Centre for Gender Justice. Micronutrient Initiative: Mark Fryars, Vice-President, Program and Technical Services; Joel Spicer, President. Canadian Network for Maternal, Newborn and Child Health: Helen Scott, Executive Director.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, April 9, 2014, the Committee resumed its study of the protection of children and youth in developing countries.

Caroline Marrs, Joel Spicer and Helen Scott made statements.


At 11:23 a.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.


At 11:29 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:13 p.m., the sitting resumed.


The Committee resumed its study of the protection of children and youth in developing countries.


The witnesses answered questions.


At 12:57 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Joann Garbig
Clerk of the Committee

2015/03/31 3:16 p.m.