Skip to main content
Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 5
Tuesday, November 26, 2013

The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development met at 3:29 p.m. this day, in Room 306, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Dean Allison, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mike Allen, Dean Allison, Lois Brown, Paul Dewar, Marc Garneau, Peter Goldring, Nina Grewal, Hélène Laverdière, Laurin Liu and Gary Ralph Schellenberger.


Acting Members present: James Bezan for David Anderson and Tarik Brahmi for Romeo Saganash.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: James Lee, Analyst; Erin Shaw, Analyst. House of Commons: Rémi Bourgault, Procedural Clerk.


Witnesses: Handicap International Canada: Marc Drolet, Executive Director; Jerome Bobin, Manager, Communication and Mobilization. Cluster Munition Coalition: Amélie Chayer, Policy Analyst. Hon. Malcolm Fraser, Former Prime Minister of Australia; Virgil Wiebe, Professor of Law, University of St. Thomas School of Law.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Friday, October 25, 2013, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-6, An Act to implement the Convention on Cluster Munitions.

Marc Drolet and Amélie Chayer, by videoconference from Geneva, Switzerland, made statements and, with Jerome Bobin, answered questions.


At 4:27 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:33 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Hon. Malcolm Fraser, by videoconference from Melbourne, Australia, and Virgil Wiebe, by videoconference from Minneapolis, Minnesota, made statements and answered questions.


At 5:15 p.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit for ten minutes while the bells to call in the members for a recorded division were ringing.


At 5:26 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2013/11/28 4:15 p.m.