Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 34
Tuesday, November 18, 2014

The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development met at 8:48 a.m. this day, in Room 306 The Valour Building, the Chair, Dean Allison, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dean Allison, David Anderson, Paul Dewar, Marc Garneau, Peter Goldring and Gary Ralph Schellenberger.


Acting Members present: Robert Chisholm for Romeo Saganash, Hon. Laurie Hawn for Nina Grewal, Robert Sopuck for Lois Brown and Peter Stoffer for Hélène Laverdière.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Allison Goody, Analyst; Brian Hermon, Analyst.


Witnesses: Girls Not Brides: The Global Partnership to End Child Marriage: Mabel van Oranje, Chair; Ashok Dyalchand, Member, Institute for Health Management, Pachod; Amina Hanga, Member, Isa Wali Empowerment Initiative. Plan International Canada Inc.: Rosemary McCarney, President and Chief Executive Officer. CARE Canada: Jacquelyn Wright, Vice-President, International Programs. Save the Children Canada: Cicely McWilliam, Senior Advisor, Policies and Campaigns.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, April 9, 2014, the Committee resumed its study of the Protection of Children and Youth in Developing Countries.

Mabel van Oranje, Amina Hanga and Ashok Dyalchand made statements and answered questions.


At 9:48 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:53 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Rosemary McCarney, Jacquelyn Wright and Cicely McWilliam, by teleconference from Toronto, Ontario, made statements and answered questions.


At 10:52 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Joann Garbig
Clerk of the Committee

2014/11/21 10:28 a.m.