Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 51
Thursday, April 23, 2015

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 8:46 a.m. this day, in Room 306, The Valour Building, the Vice-Chair, Megan Anissa Leslie, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dennis Bevington, Colin Carrie, François Choquette, Megan Anissa Leslie, Hon. John McKay, Robert Sopuck and Stephen Woodworth.


Acting Members present: Blaine Calkins for Stella Ambler, Joe Daniel for Harold Albrecht, Jim Hillyer for Harold Albrecht and John Williamson for Lawrence Toet.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Penny Becklumb, Analyst; Tim Williams, Analyst.


Witnesses: North American Fur Auctions: Robert Cahill, Senior Vice President. Fur Institute of Canada: Gregory Thompson, Advisor; Dion Dakins, Chair, Sealing Committee; Jim Gibb, Chair, Communications Committee. International Fur Federation: Nancy Daigneault, Vice President, Americas. The Association for the Protection of Fur-Bearing Animals: Michael Howie, Director of Digital Content and Special Projects.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, February 19, 2015, the Committee resumed its study of licensed hunting and trapping in Canada.

Dion Dakins, by videoconference from St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nancy Daigneault, by videoconference from Richmond Hill, Ontario, Michael Howie, by videoconference from Oakville, Ontario, and Robert Cahill and Jim Gibb made statements and, with Gregory Thompson, answered questions.


François Choquette gave notice of the following motion:

That the Committee conduct a review of the federal government’s sectoral approach to greenhouse gas regulations, and review the failure to establish regulations for the oil and gas sector’s emissions.


At 10:41 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:41 a.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the Committee invite witnesses to participate in a two meeting study concerning the Canada Water Act Annual Report, and that the witnesses appear before May 29, 2015.


At 10:45 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Angela Crandall
Clerk of the Committee

2015/06/22 2:38 p.m.