Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 12
Thursday, February 13, 2014

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 306, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Harold Albrecht, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Harold Albrecht, Dennis Bevington, Colin Carrie, François Choquette, Mylène Freeman, Hon. John McKay, Lawrence Toet and Stephen Woodworth.


Acting Members present: Mark Strahl for Brian Storseth and David Wilks for Robert Sopuck.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tim Williams, Analyst; Penny Becklumb, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of the Environment: Chris Forbes, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Branch and Regional Directors General Offices; Michael Goffin, Regional Director General, Ontario Region; Patricia Chambers, Section Head, Watershed Stressors and Nutrients, Science and Technology Branch. Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food: Ian D. Campbell, Director, Science Coordination Division, Science and Technology Branch. Infrastructure Canada: Jeff Moore, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy and Communications; Stephanie Tanton, Director, Priority Initiatives, Policy and Communications. Department of Fisheries and Oceans: Trevor Swerdfager, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ecosystems and Fisheries Management; David Burden, Acting Regional Director General; Patrice Simon, Director, Environment and Biodiversity Science.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, December 10, 2013, the Committee commenced its study of the water quality of the Great Lakes Basin.

Chris Forbes made a statement and, with Patricia Chambers and Michael Goffin, answered questions.


François Choquette moved, — That the Committee commence a study on the Great Lakes, to consider the impact of climate change on water levels, temperature and ecology.


Colin Carrie moved, — That the Committee proceed to sit in camera.


The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division: YEAS: Colin Carrie, Mark Strahl, Lawrence Toet, David Wilks, Stephen Woodworth — 5; NAYS: Dennis Bevington, François Choquette, Mylène Freeman, John McKay — 4.


At 3:52 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:52 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.


At 3:54 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:55 p.m., the sitting resumed in public.


Questioning of the witnesses resumed.


At 4:20 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:22 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Ian D. Campbell, Jeff Moore and David Burden made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 5:10 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:12 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the following witnesses be invited to appear in relation to the study of the water quality of the Great Lakes Basin:

Commissioner, International Joint Commission - Canadian Section
Great Lakes Fishery Commission
Assistant Deputy Minister, Integrated Environmental Policy Division, Ontario Ministry of Environment
Assistant Deputy Minister, Food Safety and Environment Division, Ontario Ministry of Agriculture and Food
City Manager, City of Hamilton
Director, Water Infrastructure Management, Toronto Water
Deputy Director, Great Lakes and St. Lawrence Cities Initiative - Canada
Walpole Island First Nation
Chiefs of Ontario, Environment Coordinator
Chief Administrative Officer, Grand River Conservation Authority
General Manager, Upper Thames River Conservation Authority.


It was agreed, — The Committee reserve five (5) minutes at the end of the meeting of Tuesday, February 25, 2014 to continue its consideration of the potential work plan in relation to the study of the water quality of the Great Lakes Basin.


At 5:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Holke David
Clerk of the Committee

2014/03/18 2:10 p.m.